Laytonsville District Volunteer Fire Department

Community Events

Red Cross Blood Drive

2018 Responses
EMS Fire
Jan 116 110
Feb 106 50
Mar 78 77
Apr 88 60
May 103 70
Jun 85 52
Jul 82 92
Aug 108 73
Sep 92 75
Oct 99 83
Total 957 742

Past Responses
EMS Fire
2017 1133 894
2016 1119 853
2015 1049 976
2014 966 1014

Web Counters
Website Visitors
January 29, 2013
Visitors Today
Jan 17, 2019
Annual MCVFRA Convention Awards Ceremony
Email Email Print Print RSS RSS Facebook Google+ Twitter

By Secretary Mike Russ
September 21, 2017

The LDVFD is extremely proud to announce that two of our members received high awards Thursday night at the 95th Montgomery County Volunteer Fire Rescue Association annual convention.

President / Master Firefighter Gregory Albrecht received the "Chief George T. Hillard Firefighter of the Year Award" for actions he took while first on scene of a working townhouse fire with reports of people trapped. MFF Albrecht arrived several minutes ahead of the first due company in his fire department vehicle. Neighbors stated that the homeowner went back inside the burning structure. Observing heavy fire conditions throughout the townhouse, MFF Albrecht made the quick decision to enter the townhouse to do a search for the resident. MFF Albrecht did this knowing the extreme danger he would face alone & realizing that if he himself became trapped or injured, there would be no one to help him for several minutes. After searching several rooms, conditions deteriorated rapidly & MFF Albrecht exited the structure. The homeowner had entered the home as reported by neighbors but had exited out another door out of view. MFF Albrecht has been in the Montgomery County Fire Service since 1981. Great job Greg, your bravery is recognized.

EMS Captain Matt Manganello received the "James S. Nicewarner Memorial Volunteer Paramedic Award" for his lifesaving actions on multiple incidents during the past year. Since becoming a Paramedic several years ago, Captain Manganello is credited for reviving a patient that was in full cardiac arrest. He has responded to numerous patients suffering from major heart attacks & cardiac events, overdoses, traumatic injuries, medical emergencies, saving these patients with Advanced Life Support care that only Paramedics can perform. Captain Manganello is at the station every Friday night & into Saturday. Even though he is not a member, he regularly assists our friends at the Wheaton Volunteer Rescue Squad staff the Paramedic Chase Car. With the time he spends at Laytonsville & Wheaton, Captain Manganello has responded to hundreds of calls & there is no question that he has saved many, many lives. We are glad you are with us, you are doing incredible things Matt.

About the awards that were given out:

Chief George T. Hillard is a member of the Upper Montgomery County Volunteer Fire Department, located just north of Poolesville. Chief Hillard has been an ACTIVE member for over 50 years. He served as the Fire Chief of Upper Montgomery for 39 years. His long inspirational service to the citizens of his community & Montgomery County is the reason the Firefighter/Rescuer of the Year Award is named after him.

Firefighter/Paramedic James S. Nicewarner joined the Wheaton Volunteer Rescue Squad in 1967 & became a paramedic in 1972. He later became a Firefighter with the Silver Spring Volunteer Fire Department. He held several degrees in engineering & fire science. On June 26th 1977, Paramedic Nicewarner was transporting a patient to Suburban Hospital in Medic 3, when a drunk driver struck the unit at Old Georgetown Rd & Democracy Blvd, flipping the medic unit over. Paramedic Nicewarner was thrown from the unit & suffered fatal injuries. His dedicated service to others & the loss of his life while caring for a patient, is the reason the Volunteer Paramedic of the Year award is named in his honor.

No Caption
VP Mike Eanes, Linda Albrecht, President Greg Albrecht, Paramedic Matt Manganello, Chief Geoff Burns
VP Mike Eanes, Linda Albrecht, President Greg Albrecht, Paramedic Matt Manganello, Chief Geoff Burns
No Caption
No Caption
No Caption

Comment Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Laytonsville District VFD
21400 Laytonsville Road
Laytonsville, MD 20882

Emergency Dial 911
Non-Emergency: 240-773-4717
Station Fax: 301-977-9327
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)